11th Annual Reading Session

11th Annual Reading Session

Skip to get tickets
11th Annual Reading Session

11th Annual Reading Session

Sat, Mar 21, 2015, 11:00am
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall


Lawrence Loh and Fawzi Haimor, conductors
Mason Bates, PSO Composer of the Year
Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra


Xinyang Wang: Dialogues II     
Anthony Manfredonia:

Through the Tunnels and Back 

Richard Thomas:

Door on the Floor 

David Hertzberg: Spectre of the Spheres     


Since the 2004-2005 season, the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra has offered an annual reading of works by young composers from area universities as part of its Composer of the Year program. Beginning in 2012, the PSO's annual reading program expanded its call for submissions to residents of Pennsylvania*. Up to four works will be selected for the reading session, where at least one of the spots will be reserved for a student from the universities that have traditionally participated in the program.

Submissions will be evaluated by Mason Bates, and read by the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra conducted by Lawrence Loh and Fawzi Haimor, PSO Resident Conductors. The event is free and open to the general public. Following the session, composers will receive feedback from a panel including Mason Bates, Lawrence Loh and Fawzi Haimor, and PSO musicians.

Submission Guidelines
Application Form


    For personal assistance selecting accessible seats or for more information about accessibility for a person with a disability, please contact Customer Service at 412-392-4900