Time left to complete order
A Grand Finale with Yuja Wang

A Grand Finale with Yuja Wang

A Grand Finale with Yuja Wang

A Grand Finale with Yuja Wang

Fri, Jun 7 - Sun, Jun 9, 2013
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall


Manfred Honeck, conductor
Yuja Wang, piano


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1     
Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5  

About This Performance

“[Yuja Wang has] a practical superhuman keyboard technique with artistic eloquence that is second to none” -San Francisco Chronicle

Manfred Honeck closes the season with the young Chinese virtuoso Yuja Wang.  She performs Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto.  Its recognizable opening is sure to put a smile on your face that lasts throughout this lush and treasured piece.    Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 is a Russian masterpiece with deep meaning for the composer and his country – a grand finale.

Explore & Engage

Themes and programs that give you a deeper, more meaningful and more personally relevant connection to the music!

Learn more about the Explore & Engage program


Note: All services may not be available at all performances. Click the link above for accessible performance schedule or contact customer service for further assistance.
Map of Heinz Hall