Time left to complete order




Fri, Nov 8 - Sun, Nov 10, 2013
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall


Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, conductor
Arabella Steinbacher, violin


Balada: Symphony No. 6 (American premiere)  
Prokofiev: Concerto No. 1 in D major for Violin and Orchestra, Opus 19  
Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade, Opus 35

About This Performance

Experience the music of another PSO Pittsburgh Composer of the Year.  In Leonardo Balada’s “Symphony of Sorrows,” Leonardo tried to picture musically two aspects of war in its psychological perspective and in so doing; the music brings desperate tensions as well as desolated intimate moments.  Violinist Arabella Steinbacher returns with artistry of “immense beauty, light agility and secure intonation” (The Bruckner Journal) in Prokofiev’s delicate and airy first violin concerto.  Scheherazade is the musical portrayal of a story from One Thousand and One Nights in which the Persian queen Scheherazade saves her own life through cunning story-telling.

Explore & Engage

Themes and programs that give you a deeper, more meaningful and more personally relevant connection to the music!

Learn more about the Explore & Engage program


Note: All services may not be available at all performances. Click the link above for accessible performance schedule or contact customer service for further assistance.
Map of Heinz Hall