Spanish Strings

Spanish Strings

Skip to get tickets
Spanish Strings

Spanish Strings

Fri, Oct 10 - Sun, Oct 12, 2014
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall


Omer Meir Wellber, conductor (Debut)
Pablo Villegas, guitar (Debut)


Debussy: Petite suite  
Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez for Guitar and Orchestra   
Tchaikovsky: Manfred Symphony, Opus 58  
Program Notes View Program Notes    

About This Performance

Israeli conductor Omer Meir Wellber makes his Pittsburgh Symphony debut, leading the orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s virtuosic Manfred Symphony. The vast programmatic symphony is based on Lord Byron’s tortured character Manfred, as he wanders the Alps grieving the loss of his great love, Astarte.  Wellber is joined by another Pittsburgh debut, the charismatic young Spanish guitarist Pablo Villegas, performing the beloved guitar concerto of Joaquin Rodrigo.  The program opens with Debussy’s charming Petite suite, inspired by the poetry of Paul Verlaine.  The first movement, En bateau (Sailing), perfectly captures the serenity of an evening on the water. 

“The audience lived unforgettable moments, with his [Rodrigo] extraordinary interpretation. It will be told that we have watched the guitar master of the future. A star.” – Hurriyet Daily News

“The young Israeli conductor fulfilled the highest expectations. It is a rare treat to hear and watch a conductor who, at only 29 years, shows the maturity and security Mr. Wellber shows. His direction was a model of power, authority, and Verdian feeling." – Seen and Heard

Explore & Engage

Themes and programs that give you a deeper, more meaningful and more personally relevant connection to the music!

Learn more about the Explore & Engage program


Note: All services may not be available at all performances. Click the link above for accessible performance schedule or contact customer service for further assistance.