Beethoven Concerto Cycle: No. 4

Beethoven Concerto Cycle: No. 4

Beethoven Concerto Cycle: No. 4

Beethoven Concerto Cycle: No. 4

Fri, Jun 8 - Sun, Jun 10, 2018
  • Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Heinz Hall
  • starting at $20

The widely celebrated pianist Juho Pohjonen will replace Igor Levit as soloist in this weekend's (June 8 & 10) concerts at Heinz Hall, Levit was required to regrettably step down, for health reasons. Under the direction of Maestro Honeck, Pohjonen will perform Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4, his PSO debut.

The program will be performed in its entirety, but the order has changed:

MOZART: Symphony No. 33

BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 4  
LISZT: Les Préludes
VALI: Manfred Honeck 10th Anniversary Commission- Isfahan (Calligraphy No. 16) (WORLD PREMIERE)
WAGNER: Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg - Prelude to Act 1

Program Notes

The true hallmark of a virtuoso ensemble is the ability to conjure the power and majesty of some of the romantic era's most powerful statements, while at the same time revealing the elegance, wit, and subtlety of Beethoven and Mozart. Mozart's delightful Symphony No. 33 opens the program. From its sprightly first movement to the high-spirited moto perpetuo finale, this music radiates charm and effervescence. The season-long Beethoven Piano Concerto cycle continues with the Pittsburgh debut of Finnish pianist Juho Pohjonen in Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4, a work modeled on Mozart's refined classicism, but already indicative of Beethoven's romantic spirit. The final commission in honor of Manfred Honeck's 10th Anniversary season, Isfahan, by Pittsburgh composer, Reza Vali, receives its world premiere while two bold romantic showpieces close the program. From Liszt's most famous tone poem, Les Preludes, to Wagner's joyful Prelude to Die Meistersinger, come hear what is celebrated around the world as one of the finest artistic partnerships today, Manfred Honeck and the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

A pre-concert talk, beginning one hour prior to the performance in the auditorium, will be led by Associate Conductor Andrés Franco. This talk is open to all ticketholders.

Immediately following the concert, join us for an on-stage performance of Beethoven Septet in E-flat major, Opus 20, featuring Michael Rusinek, clarinet, Nancy Goeres, bassoon, William Caballero, horn, Alexi Kenney, violin, Andrew Wickesberg, viola, Will Chow, cello and Brandon McLean, bass. This performance is open to all ticketholders.

Run Time: This performance will last approximately 2 hours and 10 minutes.


Sponsored by

Map of Heinz Hall